Roddy Williams – The Atheist Poet

Albums To Hear Before You Die – #006 – Led Zeppelin I (1969)

zeppelin-1

In the glad days of the Seventies Wrexham – where I was born and grew up – was considered the Rock and Heavy Metal centre of North Wales, at least by me anyway. Among my peers Zeppelin were considered no less than gods and one of my abiding musical regrets is that I never got to see them live.
This, their first album, needs to be considered unreservedly a classic. Blending blues and rock effortlessly with the help of sublime musicianship and Robert Plant’s outstanding vocals Zeppelin became a benchmark against which all other rock bands needed to be judged.
Opinions – including my own from time to time – will no doubt vary as to whether this is their best album but I would argue that it is at least the truest. It wasn’t an enormous critical success on its release but its reputation has since grown into that of a masterpiece. Unlike many rock albums of the era this has never dated and sounds as fresh and original now as the day it was released.

Track listing

1. Good Times Bad Times 2:47
2. Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You 6:41
3. You Shook Me 6:30
4. Dazed and Confused 6:27
5. Your Time Is Gonna Come 4:34
6. Black Mountain Side 2:13
7. Communication Breakdown 2:30
8. I Can’t Quit You Baby 4:43
9. How Many More Times 8:28

Leave a Reply

