Roddy Williams – The Atheist Poet

monday (2006)

is the struggle to awaken

and appreciate

the metaphor of watching

that poor beetle in the bathtub.

i shoved the tissue under him and

took him to the window.

he thinks i’m god. i’ve taken him

from purgatory to

paradise.

he’ll tell the other beetles

of my godcup lake of godcoffee

my godly smoke, my godly frown,

my godly morning news

and my noisy godly craps.

 

i try to climb the god enamel.

god keeps turning on the taps.

Leave a Reply

