Roddy Williams – The Atheist Poet

the mating game (2012)

my focus on the
squares is lost. the sun. in my
eyes. diagonal.

my view distracted,
fractured by a clink of glass
as they kiss gently,

accidentally
for the most part. this random
seating arrangement

is not so random.
jostling for position
is a social skill;

appears unconscious
for the most part. the sun had
blinded me to all this.

now in reflection
I catch swiftly concealed chinks
glint an opening

the glass pieces
form relationships on the board;
knight, rook, bishop, queen.

Leave a Reply

