Roddy Williams – The Atheist Poet

A Found Poem for Christmas (2010)

I found this on some internet forum years ago, and was a little blown away by both its natural style and its honesty. I have no idea who the original poster was, and needed to do little to it apart from add some judicious line breaks.

 

Found Christmas Poem

I sat through the carol service and it was painful.
I love Christmas carols,
I love the whole idea of Christmas,
and I was so happy
and everyone’s happy, everyone’s full of goodwill,
and I love the whole idea of Christmas, the idea of Jesus being born.
I mean, it’s lovely, but …
I still have to work out why we had to have the `Rivers of Babylon’ twice,
I don’t know why, but the girl who sang it was part of a clique.
I love the whole idea of Christmas, but
They’re all too smiley, and they’re all a bit too merry,
and I think, `what are they drinking? –
there’s more to that wine than meets the eye!’
I don’t know what it is, but there’s definitely a clique with tambourines …
which is all very well in Woolworth’s when you’re walking round
getting your Christmas shopping,
but it’s not something I like.
I like the old `Good King Wenceslas’,
`In Dulci Jubilo’ and ‘Adeste Fideles’.
I can sing and sing and sing,
but this didn’t do that for me.
I love the whole idea of Christmas, but
I just don’t fit into the mould I don’t think.

Leave a Reply

