Roddy Williams – The Atheist Poet

Christmas repeats (2008)

Like a dysfunctional clock
you could strike at ten past four
or five past two

Your ghost and you
have no respect for time
just leap into my head as if
a signal bounced
from number nine
had changed the channel
back to you
for the last three minutes of a sitcom
so familiar that I know the words
and mouth them like
a ritual of resurrection

Mostly it was set in my place
though there was that one hotel
and the day I came to your house
like a final Christmas special
full of fire and love and laughter

As you drove me to the station
we could see the credits rolling
up the windscreen at the back to zero

I’m glad you come and visit in my head
it’s only reruns but they’re still sublime

I too have no respect for time

Leave a Reply

